233. Joshua Stacy, I made this for you. Love, E (A Study on a Chopin Mazurka)

DAY TWO-HUNDRED AND THIRTY-THREE

Joshua Stacy, I stole this photo from your Facebook.

Dear Joshua Stacy,
You just hiked the Appalachian Trail. It took you months and months and months. You have showered by now, I think.
 
Thank you for calling me sometimes from the trail and telling me how things were going. Thank you for meeting us for lunch where the trail went right through a zoo in New York. Thank you for answering all my questions about what it’s like to do something so huge.
Thank you for being you.
Thank you for being my friend.
 
Love,
Me.

This began by recording the left hand piano part of Chopin’s Cinq Mazurkas, Vivace Op. 7, No. 1. I made a slight change in the chord progression. There wasn’t a plan. Sometimes the best laid plans aren’t laid.

There are 4 cello tracks: pizzicato (plucking) with delay, bass pedal, 2 different, but related, melody lines.

Through the whole process I thought about my friend Joshua Stacy, also a cellist, who just hiked the Appalachian Trail by himself. It is a feat, and he is always a friend of whom I think so fondly. When I think of him, I feel motivated to be better, wiser, and more decisive. I don’t talk to him very much, but when I do, I’m reminded of how a single person has the power to make another person feel..for the lack of a better word…Good. Good in the most pure sense that there is. So, I felt it appropriate to dedicate this one to him because he was on my mind. This is not the first 365 that has been dedicated to him. This one was, too.

Joshua Stacy, I stole this one of you, too. This is Springer Mountain – the southern terminus of the trail.

Joshua Stacy, I made this for you. Love, E

Comments

