215. Weakness (Happy Birthday, Headache for a Heartache!)

DAY TWO-HUNDRED AND FIFTEEN

WELCOME BACK, 365!

Weird! I just checked the 365 today in start-up mode, and, in curiosity, checked what I wrote one year ago today, and it was Headache for a Heartache.  What a surprise.  The day I posted this song, it got over 650 visits.  In one day.  And here we are, one year later!

You may also remember that I have a beautiful video of a live performance I did of this song for Sleepover Shows:

Last night, James Frazee, producer and engineer extraordinaire for the movie (and a whole bunch of other awesome projects), and I just did first review of the movie in its entirety with final music.  As these things go, we will need to tweak a few things as we are requested to do so, but we are DONE!

James Frazee and Emily Hope Price basking in the done-ness.

In celebration, I am going to post a rough draft of a song I wrote that DID NOT make it into the movie.  I wrote and recorded this while on tour with Pearl and the Beard in Madison, Wisconsin last November.  What a perfect use for the restart of the 365! It was intended for the opening credits then moved to the end credits, and eventually tossed completely.  In very 365 style, this was written and recorded in the morning over a few hours at Anna Vogelzang‘s house.  I used her “studio” (which, in truth, is a very small and somewhat friendly-cluttered office.  She had several helpful instruments and a whole bunch of very inspiring pictures pasted onto her walls.)

The song that actually ended up in the opening credits for the movie almost didn’t make it as well, but, at the last minute, it was requested to be used by the director and executive producer.  Suspense can function as a type of motivator at times, so I will only tell you that the person involved in its creation just might have been Sam McCormally (Day 10: A Thousand Thousands, Ugly Purple Sweater). More to be revealed…

I kept saying I would restart the 365 in a few weeks and, every time I said it, I meant it thinking the work would be done… but completion of projects like this is too hard to predict, and, even now, I know a tiny bit more still has to be done.  But overall, it’s finished: composing, editing, mixing…sigh.  It was an awesome experience.  I feel 10 years older but wiser, nonetheless.  The 365 will resume! FINALLY!

Weakness

Oh how it works
Is that it’s you and this is me upon a mountain
The highest mountain
Oh how it works
Is that I say that you are small and terrifying
So terrifying
So I’ve been cursed
Oh I’ve been wounded on my heel, my heart is bleeding
Oh, boy it’s bleeding
And only you
Yeah, only you can heal the damage that I’m feeling
Oh, yeah, I’m feeling
Five, four, three, two, one and I say
Weakness, you are my weakness
Savory and sweetness
You are my weakness
Weakness, you are my weakness
And I am so compelled right this moment
I’m comin’ home.
It’s how it is
Oh how I just can’t stand to see you suffer
Oh how you suffer
So I will seize
I will seize you by wrist, and we will conquer
Oh, how we’ll conquer
Come willingly,
Come willingly and be accomplice to my devising
Oh be my shill
And we will break the banks of all who’s worth
Five four three two one
Weakness, you are my weakness
Savory and sweetness
You are my weakness
Weakness, you are my weakness
I’m so compelled right this moment
I’m comin’ home.

2 thoughts on “215. Weakness (Happy Birthday, Headache for a Heartache!)

  1. Clap-tastic! Haven’t heard clapping this fun since the clapping in Nina Simone’s “Sinner Man” I’m wishing I could have found a link for you, but alas… Cheers!

Comments

