195. One of Three

DAY ONE-HUNDRED AND NINETY-FIVE

Good Morning!  Pearl and the Beard is up in Connecticut writing, writing, and writing.  Right now I am sitting by a  lake (very close to a small road, however, as you will hear in the recording).  This is a song for yesterday.  We were up until about 12 am working on a new song, energy levels waning and brain fried, I attempted to record this last night and failed miserably.

There are some good ideas here, and this is a good draft record of the idea.  I will revisit the lyrics and the structure, as it’s a bit loose and indecisive.  I had a bunch of people I referenced for melody ideas as I was writing this song, which was helpful for the general movement of the piece.

I wrote the lyrics while Pearl and the Beard was on tour last month and cut and shifted things around for this installment.  It’s basically about the stupid and wonderful things people decide to do, how they change us, and how to not regret the outcome.

I’ve been working on swimming like mermaid (among other things), and it’s going pretty well.

One Of Three


I am one, one of three
A service of noise come up from the root
Broken our covenant over your crown
With fire in my throat
Go back, go back and do it again
I am one, one of three
Four for the sentiments that you have given
Kiss white my hands, deep into the night
Awake now with you, with you on my mind
Go back, go back and do it again
I am one, one of three
She will ink my name into flesh and bone
And when, when she is gone, give forth my name to her first son
Go back, go back and do it again
Fashion from garments a head for a crown
Comes from your throat, a beautiful tongue
Meet in the middle, we’ll stand skin to stone
Go back, go back to do it again
I am one, one of three
Meet in the middle, remove all our shoes
Forget them when we leave
But we will stand
But we will stand
And do it again
I am one, one of three

2 thoughts on “195. One of Three

Comments

