194. Daddy Says

DAY ONE HUNDRED AND NINETY-FOUR

Mission: Write a song in as long as it takes Jonathan to take Lacey outside to pee before I fall asleep at the computer.

Lyrics: Written in 5-7 minutes

Recording: Less than 10 minutes (this includes deciding on how to sing it – the arrangement)

Phew!  Done! And just in the nick of time!  Spent a lovely day with Pearl and the Beard after a fantastic show at The Wassaic Project Music Festival: great people, fantastic bands and great weather (not to mention a night of camping!).  I would recommend listening to:

She Keeps Bees: If Janis Joplin and Trent Reznor had a really attractive kid and gave it to The White Stripes to raise.

Annie and the Beekeepers: Really beautiful folk with cello, bass and guitar. Sweet and soft.

Spirit Family Reunion: Harmonies! Guitar! Banjo!

The Luyas (from Montreal): Kind of a like an inexplicable version of Innocence Mission on crack.  Crazy live light show and instruments I’ve never even heard of before.

Daddy Says

Your daddy says that I’ve done wrong, that you’ve been hurt, that’s why you’re gone.
Your daddy said get out of town, to not come back, not make a sound.
But you’re my girl
I can’t let you go
But you’re my world
Please say it ain’t so
Your daddy said you’ve come and gone, that I’m no good, so here’s a song
Your daddy said he’d do me in, with one last shot my head will spin
But you’re my girl
I can’t let you go
But you’re my world
Please say it ain’t so

One thought on “194. Daddy Says

Comments

