191. I Was Born (sketch)

DAY ONE-HUNDRED AND NINETY-ONE

ULTIMATE!!! ULTIMATE!!!

This is an idea I had for something I’m working on.  (I will tell you more about this at a later date.  Until then, that’s all you’re getting.  Yippy!).  I’m trying different instrumentation to see what instruments I feel best capture what I think is happening in my mind.  So, in light of the 365, I’m posting the first and immediate lines that came to me.  This is done in one take with very little planning.  I knew I wanted a stillness in the beginning and more movement in the middle, and I had come up with a very simple progression I liked early on.  As this is only for instrumentation reference, I’m ignoring the haphazard of the part.

My first inclination is that, due to the nature of what this is intended for, this is a little too… hmmmm…?  It’s supposed to be creating a melancholy and thoughtfulness…a feeling that you know you are living in one place but you really want to be in another.  I think this is just Yanni on bells (ahhh!  Noooo!)… not quite what I’m looking for, but it’s going in the right direction.

I will keep working on this.  Exciting!

Hope you are doing so well!

I Was Born

One thought on “191. I Was Born (sketch)

  1. Yanni = lots of 3rds and 6ths, no? Maybe you’ll awake with long flowing hair…and a mustache. None the less, I find the peacefulness of this piece refreshing. (aka what I needed at the end of today)

Comments

