178. Potiphar

DAY ONE-HUNDRED AND SEVENTY-EIGHT

Pauline Frederick as Potiphar's Wife in her stage hit "Joseph and His Brethren"

I have a neighbor named Sarah who walks her pug Otto.  I saw her today and she said, “So, what are you going to write about today?”  I said, “I don’t know.  Give me a word!  Any word.”

She is an artist.  She said, “Color.”

“Done!” I said.

In the shower, a place of incredible insight, I came up with this idea.  Now, I am leaving now, at 9 am EST, to go to a matinée (Matinee’s in New York are before noon.  Otherwise you’re paying $12 a ticket to see a new movie until instead of $6 bargain matinée price.  In Utah, $6 used to be the “expensive” late night price.  Oh, movies.  Why must you be so dumb?!)  I am trying a new thing for me: writing the lyrics out completely and then putting the melody to it after.  I have started on the lyrics and, when I return from my sojourn into movie land (as I haven’t seen a movie in the theatre in a long time!), I will finish it all up.  So, here are the lyrics so far.  Sarah’s idea of color lead me to ye-olde-letter-game like the version of L-O-V-E by Nat King Cole.

I find doing lyrics first really weird and motivating.  It’s like getting a new hair cut and waking up every day wondering what in the world it’s going to want to do today… (is that a weird analogy or what!?)

So far, I’ve come up with the idea of writing about Potiphar’s wife and Joseph in the bible…will discuss this later.  This idea didn’t come to me until the second verse, so I might have to revisit the initial bunny line, since that was the first line that came to me… would Potiphar’s wife have a bunny?

**Time Warp**

Hello!  I am posting the finished draft of the song.  Phew!  This was a tough one because I tried to stay within the color theme, but ended up abandoning it for the sake of images I would rather use (rather than bunnies or purple dresses).  I kept with the Potiphar’s Wife and Joseph theme as it kept me in line and on track.  I’m having trouble finding my “muse” recently.  Admittedly, I’ve been lazy with the melody today in section B and improvised it.  But, I don’t mind using the letter game to get lyrics out and don’t feel bad with not sticking with it, though I tried not to change too much to keep the integrity of the exercise, as I ended up with some images I really like.

HAPPY AMERICA WEEKEND EVERYONE!

Potiphar (First Draft Lyrics)

Bring back the bunny you bought for me, boyfriend
Love me forever and lie with me softly
U lick the back of my fat little fingers
Everyone knows us, but don’t know what we are
Ring of my finger to cover the stretch marks
Enter the space where my heart use to be
Dye my dress purple to find me so quickly
You have a space in the midst of my summer
Even as elephants trample my flowers
Lie, won’t you lie with me in the deep winter
Lover, I’ve come to you over and over
Olive branch give me, my healing baptizer
Will as I will you, I plead your surrender

This is the revised version I ended with

Potiphar (Second Draft Lyrics and Melody)

Lie with me now, Love me for always
You lick the back of my fat little fingers
Everyone knows us, but no one knows that we’re sinking
Ring of my finger to cover the stretch marks
Enter the space where my heart use to be
Plant there a garden, the shape of which will fill completely
You have a space in the midst of my summer
Even as elephants trample my flowers
Lie, won’t you lie with me in the deep winter
Lover, I’ve come to you over and over
Olive branch give me, my healing baptizer
Will as I will you, I plead your surrender
Lie with me now, Love me for always

One thought on “178. Potiphar

  1. Thanks for putting in the extra effort. I think it turned out nicely. It’s fun to see a song’s creation start out one way and end another.

    Does she ever get a name, or is she forever Potiphar’s Wife?

Comments

