176. Edie Disappearing

DAY ONE-HUNDRED AND SEVENTY-FIVE

Emily Factoid #456: Sometimes when I do a song I like to keep the headphones on as I type so the mic can pick up the clicking of the keys.  That’s what’s happening right now as I’m typing.  Okay.  Stopping.  Now.

I had a friend once a long time ago who was very wonderfully strange.  My other friends never really got to meet her because I didn’t know her for very long… a friend-summer romance… you know those?  The friendships that come at you like a bowling ball and then leave you like Danica Patrick at NASCAR.  In any case, it was a huge impact on me, and I still think of her from time to time, and she shows up in my songs every now and then.

This is a sketch of her that I need to make longer and revisit with a bridge.  I call her Edie because, unrelated to my friend, I knew a really awesome-kinda-crazy-awesome lady named Edie once: she always wore sunglasses, even inside buildings, and fashioned every day for herself an enormous beehive hair-do.  Oh, Edie…I liked Edie.

Lyrics are based on a word salad technique I got from Jocelyn: mainly improvisatory.  I have been listening to war-era radio recently.  I heard a song the other day that was a repetitive call and response sort of… I can’t remember the song, but the genre was heavily used in the kind of new “pop-folk” that was integrating the scene at the time.

This is first take!  Why worry about it!?  Bless you, my child; hope your day is fantastical!

Edie Disappearing




4 thoughts on “176. Edie Disappearing

  1. One of my favorite songwriters uses a similar lyrical improv method: Kevin Moore, from Chroma Key. He says that he discovers troubling things about his subconscious that way. From what I understand the lyrics to “Get Back In The Car” were recorded on the second take using improvised lyrics from the first take.

    • Nice example. I find myself shocked as well with what often comes out of my subconscious. Shall we try it together? “Peace corps disembodiment allows for only certain males to perform several acts at one time” sigh…oh well. Not all of them are first-take worthy… 😉 thanks for your comment!

Comments

