127. The Mermaid Song (Anna Vogelzang)

DAY ONE-HUNDRED AND TWENTY-SEVEN

Good morning.

In Portsmouth, New Hampshire, Anna Vogelzang and I drove to the coast and sat in her car on a rainy afternoon to write a nd record this song.  I came up with a quick chord progression on the uke, and I gave us a 30 minute writing time limit.  I also gave Anna a list of words that she fashioned into lyrics.  The list of words was:

tunnel
excavate
sea
foam
fire
bleach
rock
buoy
serendipitous
crash victim
gasoline
machine
hypocrite
In Anna’s words:
Things I think are important: the mermaid took on a crazy/manic character to me while I was making words to fit the melody (why do we only write about crazy ladies?!) obsessed with the love/partner/fella or lady who left her, who presumably is on land.  It’s kind of like a really twisted little mermaid. I see her as creating as much destruction as possible, but not in malice, in hope.  She would rather die than be without this person, and she will do whatever it takes (destroy whatever she must, maybe) to get above.  I also came up with the churning-waves-machine from what you said about believing in mermaids, and that it looked like someone was hand-making the waves sometimes.

The Mermaid Song

i’ve been (OR silent? would have to listen to the take) down here digging tunnels now for weeksslowly excavate your heart

easy cuprit, it has grown immune to bleach
i will force my way
i was born into the foam of this brute sea
churn the waves each waning night
spin machines & spark dark fires aimlessly
i will force my way
no matter where you’ve run
i will make my way above
my dear, where have you run?
i will die or tunnel up
buoy broken & i plow it through the deep
i am still your hypocrite
serendipitous, this search party beneath
i will force my way
to you
no matter where you’ve run
i will make my way above
my dear, where have you run?
i will die or tunnel up
i will die or tunnel up

4 thoughts on “127. The Mermaid Song (Anna Vogelzang)

    • Tiffany,

      Hello! I’m sorry it’s taken me over 2 months to respond… things are slow over here for the blog. It’s like I’m in a fancy time machine.

      Perhaps we WILL record this for reals one day – If that happens, I’ll let you know! 🙂

      Thank you for visiting!

      Emily

Comments

