126. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom

DAY ONE-HUNDRED AND TWENTY-SIX

Wynn, Emily and Lois

Dear Mom,

I am on tour and have arrived in Boston this morning on Mother’s Day.  I am doing well and miss you very much.  I thought it would be nice, instead of a fancy homemade card that would arrive late, to send you a homemade song that would arrive much more on time… well, it’s kind of homemade.  This is one of your favorite primary songs…

I actually tried to do it just as it was written, but I just couldn’t!  I had to mash it all up… unfortunately, this meant leaving some words out.  But I left in my favorite words.  I kind of wish I had taken more time on it than I did, but I will do you another one!

I am thinking of you all the time and love you very much.  I will see you soon!  I’m sure of it!

Love,

Emily Hope

Writing: This is a LDS Primary hymn called  I Often Go Walking written by Phyllis Luch and Jeanne P. Lawler in 1969. I generally like this song.  It’s very simple, and I love it mainly because my mother loves it.  I started  reading it from the actual sheet music, but as I recorded it, it just wasn’t coming together.  I tuned down and just started working on it in free form.  It’s a shortened version that actually ended up incomplete.  I find covers difficult to change only because any altered melody is a change based from the original melody… and if you don’t know the original melody one might become lost if there is no reference point, but I hope you can follow it even if you’re not familiar with it.

Recording: A bit more complicated that I had intended.  Cello parts are duplicated and sped up after recording which give it that vibrato in the mix.  I like it… it’s like it’s got a flanger on it, but it doesn’t.  The main vocal was done last, though I had to do a few takes and cut here and there, which you might be able to detect, but if you don’t care, it’s a better listening experience, I think.  The main melody line is actually kind of improvised, as are the accompanying back ground vocals, and the main line is loosely based on the original melody that I am familiar with.  I also had to do a bit of cutting around with the cello line to make an intro that I totally avoided adding in originally, but it blends alright…

I Often Go Walking

1. I often go walking in meadows of clover,
And I gather armfuls of blossoms of blue.
I gather the blossoms the whole meadow over;
Dear mother, all flowers remind me of you.

2. O mother, I give you my love with each flower
To give forth sweet fragrance a whole lifetime through;

Left out lyrics:
(For if I love blossoms and meadows and walking,
I learn how to love them, dear mother, from you.)

5 thoughts on “126. Happy Mother’s Day, Mom

  1. Very nice Emily. I like this arrangement better. We sang the original version at my grandmother’s funeral when I was young and it still makes me very sad. I’d love to hear the finished product.

  2. Lovely. I loved your moody and dreamy improv on cello in Sommerville. Vocals superb and cello extrodinaire. Let me know when you post it.

  3. This is beautiful. The lyrics sound familiar from when I was a little little person, but the melody I had a harder time placing. I think I remember singing this one. (I bet it makes your mom cry) 🙂

Comments

