119. Deck (Songs from Underneath) HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!

DAY ONE HUNDRED AND NINETEEN

Queen Lacey. Sir Jonathan. Underneath.

Today I enjoyed Montauk for the first time ever.  (Preface: Eternal Sunshine of a Spotless Mind is in my top 5 favorite movies of all time).  It took us about 2 and a half hours to drive there.  We went today because off leash dog season ends in a few days, and I’m on tour for the rest of the time and always talk about going, so we made a last-minute mad dash to the furthest out-to-sea part of New York.  It was absolutely beautiful.  It was a bit windy, cool and foggy.  Awesome.

I brought with me my recording equipment, 2 ukes, the bells, the snare, the omnichord and the thumb piano.  On our drive there, I kept looking for interesting things that might make for a good “underneath song”.  On the beach on top of a hill of sand, there was a large deck and, underneath that, a perfect space to sit and record.  So, Lacey dug herself out a little resting space, and Jonathan and I recorded this song.  By the time I got to the end, every string was out of tune!  Ha!  Blame it on the ocean air.

You can hear the ocean in the background which I feel was so much a part of the composition of this song that no lyrics were needed.

It was my intention to do a song for my dad’s birthday, which is TODAY!  Our trip to the ocean brought on some different ideas for it, so I hope you like it.  My dad isn’t a perfect sleeper, but maybe he could sleep to this…(though I considered doing a cover for his birthday, isn’t an original better than a cover for a birthday gift?!)

I love you, Dad!

Deck

One thought on “119. Deck (Songs from Underneath) HAPPY BIRTHDAY DAD!

Comments

