77. Sidewalks of New York (East side West side) – Wynn Price

DAY SEVENTY-SEVEN

(woops! Initial post said I was on number 78…let’s fix that…)

My dad, Wynn, and our Alaskan Malamute, Rusty (RIP Rusty!)

Good morning, friend!

I am in Utah for Jonathan’s father’s funeral.  I am posting this late (late as in that I’m posting it today instead of last night).  I’m mainly late because I had no motivation to post it yesterday.  It was rough.  I flew in from Austin at about 9 am, was picked up by my parents, driven home get there just in time for the funeral service.  It was a lovely tribute to a fantastic man.  It was sad, funny, and happy all at once.  The day was so long and at the end if it, I was just too tired to post.  We are leaving for the graveside service in Panguitch, Utah today which will be held tomorrow morning.

But, this morning, I had the idea to sit down with my dad, who has collected hundreds of instruments in the last few years.  My dad is learning the banjo (hammer claw), mandolin, and ukulele.  He is mainly teaching himself, though I know he has taken some private banjo lessons.  He plays the old classic tunes like I’ll See You Again, Five Foot Two, Eyes of Blue, etc.  So, I sat down with my dad, and we arranged several songs he and I knew.   He has so many instruments I got to pick whatever I wanted.  Sadly, I’m not proficient at all on fretted instruments, and find them horribly difficult to play (ironic, I know)  I’d understand them better if they didn’t have frets: it would make so much more sense to me…

My dad video taped himself playing this on his uke and sent it to me.  I think he is secretly excited that I live in New York, though he often makes fun of me and says I’ll come running back to Utah soon… (hardly!  New York is awesome!)

This is kind of bittersweet for me.  With Jonathan here with me, I’m relieved, but so sad that his father is no longer here… but it makes me so grateful I can have these kinds of opportunities to share with my awesome dad.  He’s funny, sarcastic and hardworking.  He loves music.  He loves music probably more than I do and that makes me want to love it more, too.

I love you, Dad.

Sidewalks of New York

Written by C. Lawlor and J. Blake

East side, West side; All around the town,
the tots sang “Ring a Rosie,”
“London Bridge is falling down.”
Boys and girls together,
Me and Mamie O’Rourke,
Tripped the light fantastic,
on the Sidewalks of New York

One thought on “77. Sidewalks of New York (East side West side) – Wynn Price

Comments

