72. The House that Humble Built (Justin Tam)

DAY SEVENTY-TWO

We are in Nashville.  Nashville is the home of two of the most lovely people I’ve met.  Justin Tam of the band Quote and his beautiful fiancée Kacie have put us up for the evening.  Justin sat down with us, despite having to get up at 7 in the morning for work, after our Basement show and stayed up until about 1:30 in the morning and goofed around with his really awesome, 10-string, uke-like, Peruvian instrument (of which I now forget the name).  It got a bit out of control, so I had to create some order to the chaos and edit this song.  His brother walked in on us recording and said, “Oh.  There’s a lot of people here.”  This became the main lyric, and we just went with it.  Because this is a live recording, and we really didn’t have time to do this more than once, it clips, but you get the idea of the general energy.

I wish I had had more time to develop something really cool and more structured because Justin’s voice is so beautiful, and he has such a wonderful instinct for melody.   But, because his voice is so awesome, I got some unaccompanied clips of him singing that I’ll use later on.

Observation: I generally find myself becoming shy in large groups, and it shows in this song.  I held myself back and only really sang in the chorus.  I like syncopation and glad I was able to slip it in here…I’ve felt quite disjointed with news of current events and not really having any alone time starts affecting my thinking processes.  It’s a strange mix for me.  I’d like to have a nice quiet hour to write, but being on tour can be hard.  I’ve had such a nice time and Jocelyn and Jeremy have been so supportive of me and Jonathan.  I love my band.  I think I’m just not looking forward to a funeral.  You know?  Not at all.

Justin Tam: You are fantastic.  I got him performing a song for us he wrote himself that I really wanted to post for you to hear.  It’s a beautiful song about Kacie.  They are getting married on April 24th.  Many lovely congratulations to them!

We are in Memphis tonight… and I am going to try to make these guys go to a movie today (I’ve been deprived).

The House that Humble Built (Or “There’s Too Many People Here”)

Sweet Southern Seamstress (Justin Tam’s Song)

One thought on “72. The House that Humble Built (Justin Tam)

  1. I find it interesting that you get all shy in a large group. Reminds me of our previous Facebook chat. THEE Emily is shy? Strange. 😉
    I too love syncopation – loved it!
    Hang in there girl. I know things aren’t easy right now. I am deeply sorry about that. I’m not sure what I could say to make it better…so just know that I think you’re fabulously wonderful.
    Shannon

Comments

