53. Spice Up Your Life (Cover No. 3)

DAY FIFTY-THREE

HAPPY BIRTHDAY, RYAN WARD!

[Commercial interruption: EHP has an early Mercury Lounge show, Monday, March 1 at 7 pm!  With Dan Torres.  She starts at 7 pm and is doing some 365’s with special guest Abbie Gardner from day 36Get more info here.]

Back from Miami after a de-planing and three turn around’s on the tarmac.  Oh well.  I’m home and leaving for Portsmouth, New Hampshire this weekend with Pearl and the Beard for another show a Hog Farm (but with the band…yessss!)

I have been working on a song about my friend’s grandparents.  I was hoping to have it finished in time to post it for today’s no. 53, but I didn’t want to rush it, so I arranged and recorded this instead.  (Am I stealing this melody from someone?  I hope not… but there is a big brain-file of music up here…you never know.)  You can read about this song’s history and its author’s here on trusty Wikipedia.

Why did I choose it?  Well, I was making eggs and was adding pepper to them and started singing it, and there was a hat on the bedpost so I wore it, and Lacey jumped on the bed, so she’s in it.  (I think she makes it better anyway.)

Lacey and I did two other truncated version of this song because I forgot the lyrics.  And did I really say “Posidividy?” This is the only one where we got all the way through, and Lacey was finished half way, obviously.  Her leaving did allow for a “woo”, which I appreciated (given my requirement for “woo’s”).  The hat?  Not again.  I feel like it made me a little douchy…weird… I’ll leave it to Jonathan to wear it.

This is a cover.  Here are the lyrics I chose to use from the original.  The mp3 is different from the video.  Enjoy!

Spice Up Your Life (by The Spice Girls)

When you’re feeling sad and low
We will take you where you gotta go
Smiling, dancing, everything is free
All you need is positivity
Colours of the world
Spice up your life
Every boy and every girl
Spice up your life
People of the world
Spice up your life
Yellow man in Timbuktu
Colour for both me and you
Kung Fu Fighting, Dancing Queen
Tribal Spaceman and all that’s in between
Colours of the world
Spice up your life
Every boy and every girl
Spice up your life
People of the world
Spice up your life
Slam it to the left
If you’re having a good time
Shake it to the right
If you know that you feel fine
Chicas to the front
Uh Uh Hai Sí Ja Hold Tight
Colours of the world
Spice up your life
Every boy and every girl
Spice up your life
People of the world
Spice up your life

You can hear the original here in this totally sweet music video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fgDdeBrGrro

But Lacey and I made our own video for our song.  You can watch it here:

I hope your day is going splendidly.  See you tomorrow!

EHP

2 thoughts on “53. Spice Up Your Life (Cover No. 3)

  1. Emily,

    You are so adorable – and I love you! Not just a song today, but a description, lyrics AND a video! Awesome. This totally made my day.
    Kiss Lacey for me.

    Shannon

Comments

